Aegis Rising awarded the 2014 B.R.A.G. Medallion

The process of writing a novel is a journey through uncharted territory for many first time writers. A journey where I found myself moved by the awe-inspiring vistas and eye-opening discoveries on one day and exerting to the point of exhaustion as I trekked across a rough terrain blanketed by fog the next day.

Every once in a while a beam of light would cast precious illumination my way and light up this journey. It manifests in different forms; an inspiring email from a reader, a positive review from a blogger, reaching #1 on Amazon’s bestseller list and such. Occasionally instead of a beam of light, you are blessed with a star-burst. Once such gift arrived this morning in the form of an email that stated that my novel Aegis Rising ( has been awarded the coveted B.R.A.G. Medallion.

This is indeed a very special honor as the selection criteria for this award is very stringent and just ten percent of the books submitted for consideration are awarded the Medallion. I am indeed honored by this recognition. It is the perfect catalyst to charge up the coming days and weeks as I make strides to complete my second novel, Aegis Incursion, in time for a November/December release.

The following is from the :

BRAG Medallion is owned and operated by indieBRAG, LLC, a privately held organization that has brought together a large group of readers, both individuals and members of book clubs, located throughout the United States and in ten other countries around the globe. The word “indie” refers to self or independently published books, while B.R.A.G. is an acronym for Book Readers Appreciation Group. Our mission is to discover new and talented self-published authors and help them give their work the attention and recognition it deserves. Our primary focus is fiction across a wide range of genres; however, we selectively consider non-fiction books as well.

All ebooks brought to the attention of indieBRAG, LLC are subjected to a rigorous selection process. This entails an initial screening to ensure that the author’s work meets certain minimum standards of quality and content. If it passes this preliminary assessment, it is then read by members drawn from our global reader group. They judge the merits of the book based on a comprehensive list of criteria, including;

  • Plot
  • Writing Style
  • Characters
  • Copy editing
  • Dialogue
  • Cover/interior layout

One final factor our readers use to judge a book is whether or not they would recommend it to their best friend.

On average, 50% of the books submitted to us fail to pass the initial screen and another 40% are subsequently rejected by our readers. Thus, only 10% of the books we consider are awarded our B.R.A.G. Medallion and are presented on our website. Conversely, we do not make public the titles of any books that were not selected to receive a Medallion, or the names of their authors.

Screen Grab


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s